SourceTec Software

It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 5:24 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:27 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:21 am
Posts: 4
Hi all.

I have created many menus with DHTML Menu Maker very successfully, however one thing i really cant figure out is for some reason the menus always appear on top of my loading screen, nothing else does just the menus made with DHTML menu maker. My site is at http://www.pcevo.co.uk you can look and see what i mean, the text appears saying 'loading..' but the menus always appear with it, ideally i want the menus to come up after the loading screen. does this sound like something that can be done?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 8:50 pm 
Offline
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 3:53 am
Posts: 1752
Location: Rescue, CA, USA
I don't have the time right now to test this theory but try moving
Code:
<script type="text/javascript" src="stmenu.js"></script>
from the document <head> to immediately before the closing </body> tag.

Please let me know if it works.

Regards,

Bill
Unofficial DHTML Menu Resource Site


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 9:00 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:21 am
Posts: 4
Hi Bill Thanks for the reply,

i tried as you suggested but no luck :( still the same problem...

i think this may be relating to where the java script is telling it to be? just a guess though really.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 10:06 pm 
Offline
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 3:53 am
Posts: 1752
Location: Rescue, CA, USA
Here are a few more suggestions:

1) Upgrade to the latest version of DHTML Menu.

2) Use JavaScript include files for your menus (see the "Getting Started" section of the Unofficial DHTML Menu Resource Site).

3) I see two instances of loading stmenu.js, once in line 60 (just before the closing </head> tag) and again in line 316 (just before menu0cal). You should remove the second instance.

Regards,

Bill
Unofficial DHTML Menu Resource Site


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 10:35 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:21 am
Posts: 4
i have attempted all those things, i think the menu.js appears twice because i have 2 menus on one page, but both do the same thing.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 11:05 pm 
Offline
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 3:53 am
Posts: 1752
Location: Rescue, CA, USA
After removing the second instance of stmenu.js did you try moving the single instance of stmenu.js from the page <head> to just before the closing </body> tag? Also, it appears that you are still using an outdated version of DHTML Menu and menu code is still included in the page.

Regards,

Bill
Unofficial DHTML Menu Resource Site


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 11:44 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:21 am
Posts: 4
i am using 9.6 you really think 9.8 would make the difference?

i have tried both methods you suggested i havent uploaded them to www.pcevo.co.uk until it works im looking at a live preview.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:25 am 
Offline
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 3:53 am
Posts: 1752
Location: Rescue, CA, USA
According to the code online you're using Version 8.20:
Code:
stm_bm(["menu0ca1",820,"","blan...
I think it's always best to use the latest version of DHTML Menu, although I don't always practice what I preach and sometimes forget to update some of my sites. Make sure to update the menu code using the latest version and upload all the JavaScript files.

Regards,

Bill
Unofficial DHTML Menu Resource Site


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group