SourceTec Software

It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:48 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 4:48 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 5
Ok, I'm not the first person to encounter this so I have to ask. I'm using web path for my stuff on a local web server for testing. It works perfectly fine in firefox, chrome, etc...the only one this menu won't work on is IE. Trying to use a local drive is fine if you are only running the menu locally. If you want to use it on an intranet, that is a major problem. Can anyone explain what's wrong?

IE gives me an object expected error at line 4, column 1. Here's the top part of the code removing any unneeded stuff:

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://localhost/evh2com/script/stmenu.js"></script><a href="http://www.dhtml-menu-builder.com" style="display:none;visibility:hidden;">Javascript DHTML Drop Down Menu Powered by dhtml-menu-builder.com</a>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
stm_bm(["menu0ca1",900,"http://localhost/evh2com/images","blank.gif",0,"","",0,0,50,50,1000,1,0,0,"","",0,0,1,2,"default","hand","",1,25],this);
stm_bp("p0",[0,4,0,0,0,0,0,0,100,"",-2,"",-2,50,0,0,"#999999","transparent","",3,0,0,"#000000"]);


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 11:59 am 
Offline
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 6:39 pm
Posts: 1130
Location: Ohio
bbcompent1 wrote:
Ok, I'm not the first person to encounter this so I have to ask. I'm using web path for my stuff on a local web server for testing. It works perfectly fine in firefox, chrome, etc...the only one this menu won't work on is IE. Trying to use a local drive is fine if you are only running the menu locally. If you want to use it on an intranet, that is a major problem. Can anyone explain what's wrong?

IE gives me an object expected error at line 4, column 1. Here's the top part of the code removing any unneeded stuff:

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://localhost/evh2com/script/stmenu.js"></script><a href="http://www.dhtml-menu-builder.com" style="display:none;visibility:hidden;">Javascript DHTML Drop Down Menu Powered by dhtml-menu-builder.com</a>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
stm_bm(["menu0ca1",900,"http://localhost/evh2com/images","blank.gif",0,"","",0,0,50,50,1000,1,0,0,"","",0,0,1,2,"default","hand","",1,25],this);
stm_bp("p0",[0,4,0,0,0,0,0,0,100,"",-2,"",-2,50,0,0,"#999999","transparent","",3,0,0,"#000000"]);

Use a root relative path like this:
<script type="text/javascript" src="script/stmenu.js"></script>

_________________
Mike
http://www.incitevisual.com
Not Sothink Support


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 9:17 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 5
Well I tried it the way you mention. It works fine if I view my dreamweaver template but if I open any of the connected pages, no menu displays.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 10:26 pm 
Offline
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 6:39 pm
Posts: 1130
Location: Ohio
bbcompent1 wrote:
Well I tried it the way you mention. It works fine if I view my dreamweaver template but if I open any of the connected pages, no menu displays.

Did you update the other pages??

_________________
Mike
http://www.incitevisual.com
Not Sothink Support


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 10:32 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 5
Yes, by using a template and linking the other pages, they dynamically update when you save.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 10:43 pm 
Offline
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 3:53 am
Posts: 1752
Location: Rescue, CA, USA
Please attach the menu .pgt file, your DW template (*.dwt), and the site's index page to a post in this thread.

Regards,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:20 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 5
Ok, here is what I have. What I'm doing is placing both menus inside the top div tag. I'm attempting to create a two level menu structure as dropline menus.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 2:45 am 
Offline
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 3:53 am
Posts: 1752
Location: Rescue, CA, USA
I renamed default.asp to index.html and detached the page from the template. I modified your .pgt files to use menu/ as the path for both menu JavaScripts and menu images. I then generated two JavaScript include files and added links to those files where you previously had the menu code. I didn't have your stylesheet or image files, so the page is a mess, but you can see it at http://bestwebmenu.com/bbcompent1/. I am attaching the bbcompent1 folder as a ZIP file. The ZIPPED folder contains a "menu" folder with the two JavaScript include files (menu_part1.js and menu_part2.js) and other JavaScript files required by the menu, modified versions of your two .pgt files, home.dwt (untouched), and index.html. I suggest that you delete home.dwt, get index.html working to your satisfaction, save it as a template, create the desired editable area(s), and generate your site pages from the template.

In the future, I suggest that you not use DHTML Menu as a Dreamweaver extension. Use DHTML Menu as a standalone program and generate JavaScript include files.

Regards,


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group