SourceTec Software

It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 2:38 pm

All times are UTC + 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Flash covers up menus
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 5:00 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 1:36 am
Posts: 3
I created a flash file (.swf). I published it and copied the html code into the appropriate place in my website. It works very nicely. This flash is located just under some topics which have menus which appear when I hover over the topics. The problem is that the menus hide behind the flash. The menus are created using DHTML Menu Builder. My web site is built using PHP. Is there an easy obvious solution to this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 7:10 am 
Offline
Old Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 130
Location: Crossett, Arkansas U.S.A.
Just as in the real world, when one object covers another you cannot access it easily.

You will need to learn to plan your pages so that the flash does not cover other interactive items, or any other items cover the flash.

Perhaps you could move the dhtml buttons so that they are no longer covered by the flash item.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 1:59 pm 
Offline
Poster

Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 2:59 pm
Posts: 72
Hi,

Concerning your problem, please refer to Sothink DHTML Menu Help Built-in> How to let menu show over Flash movies in IE / Netscape / Mozilla / Firefox browsers?

-- Please use the following method to realize it:
1) Please uncheck "Flash movie or other Active Object" in "Windowed element" option in DHTML Menu and publish menu again.
2) Then add <param name="wmode" value="transparent">; or <param name="wmode" value="opaque"> in the HTML code of Flash in web page.
3) Please add wmode="transparent" or wmode="opaque" in <embed>...</embed> tags of Flash movie's code in webpage.
The example is like:
<param name="wmode" value="transparent">
<embed src="http://www.yourwebsite.com/floating.swf" width="400" height="300" align="middle" quality="high" wmode="transparent" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash"></embed>

Please note the transparent or opaque should match the former one. Then the menu will show over Flash either in IE or in Mozilla / Netscape / Firefox browsers.

_________________
Rita Luo
Sothink Marketing Team
SourceTec Software Co., LTD.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:36 pm 
Offline
Old Hand
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 5:27 am
Posts: 130
Location: Crossett, Arkansas U.S.A.
Hi Rita.

That is to a degree true, however, in web design the problem is with the links on items which appear BELOW a flash item. He can see the items, but they are not clickable because --- while the flash item is transparent --- it is on a layer ABOVE the button he is trying to access.

Unless you have a way to allow a click THROUGH the flash item, he needs to work to make sure the alignment is such that the flash does not lie above the buttons.

Being transparent or opaque only applies to being able to see the items.

It is a simple design consideration.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 8:44 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 9:14 pm
Posts: 1
All Active content on a page will always rise to the top, so to speak,
including Flash, certain form elements, Java applets, and Active X controls.
This means that each of these will poke through layers.

For IE and NN6+ browsers there is a solution reliable way to solve this
issue using the Flash
wmode parameter.

http://pakka.com.au/web.html


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group